INSECT ARK: "Future Fossils" EP Nears Release Via Consouling Sounds 

INSECT ARK, the long-running exploratory endeavor led by Dana Schechter, today unveils “Oral Thrush.” Now playing at Everything Is Noise, the track appears on INSECT ARK’s forthcoming Future Fossils EP, set for release September 24th via Belgium’s Consouling Sounds. When Dana Schechter started INSECT ARK as her “true” solo project in 2012, she set out to build desolate and hallucinogenic galaxies of sound entirely on her own. Writing and playing solo offered an escape into the deepest realms of self-reflection, dredging and birthing a hitherto sonic beast that was, it turns out, utterly unhinged and totally liberating. Focusing on experimental, drone, noise, and avant-garde noise, INSECT ARK’s first years produced records that were raw, ominous, and totally unique. While defying comparison, these new sounds possessed Schechter’s distinct musical spirit, woven throughout her twenty-plus years of band/collaboration work. After three releases (2012’s Collapsar 7”, 2013’s Long Arms 10”, 2015’s Portal/Well LP), INSECT ARK added live drums to the mix, and the resulting albums — 2018’s Marrow Hymns (with drummer Ashley Spungin) and 2020’s The Vanishing (with drummer Andy Patterson) — showed that her singular vision could also expand into heavier and more crushing territory within a collaborative space. The power that live drums brought to INSECT ARK helped gather a new fanbase in the heavy-music world, adding another layer to the band’s palette. Now, after nine years of existence, INSECT ARK has come full circle to once again embrace solo work on 2021’s Future Fossils. Offers Schechter of the latest single, “‘Oral Thrush’ was initially recorded on the Buchla 200 synth at EMS Elektronmusikstudion (EMS Studios) Stockholm during a Composer Residency in 2018. I later finished the track by manipulating the audio files with pitch shifting, time stretching, and heavy effects work, layering various passes of the different synthesizer sounds. The final result created a disembodied, brittle piece of music in a register much higher than I usually work. I liked how, in the midst of the chaos, the tones started to resemble horns or sirens, wailing into an open sky.” 


Adds Everything Is Noise, "'Oral Thrush' is rife with waxing and waning sounds, howling in various pitches like spectral whales. It’s a dark track, surrounded by constricting, impairing blackness, though as open and expansive as the sky referenced by Schechter. It’s quite a feat to play within an unlimited space, yet make the listener feel enclosed and small, even threatened and uneasy. Pulsating hums burrow into your head and each synth scream pierces the ear in slow-motion, all while subjected to an unpredictable and busy array of moans that provide a keen sense of texture..." Future Fossils is the first step in a continuing revisitation of Schechter’s solo work. Side A features three all-synthesizer compositions by Schechter: “Gypsum Blade,” “Oral Thrush,” and “Anopsian Volta.” Notably absent on these three “synth” songs are two of Schechter’s “main” instruments: lap steel guitar and bass guitar. But their omission is not a new direction, as much as an alternate facet and an exercise in the spirit of stark minimalism, as INSECT ARK continually grows and metamorphosizes. The album’s B Side, “Gravitrons,” a live noise improv set, was performed at a converted church in Brooklyn in 2016, with Schechter on lap steel/synths, and former collaborator Ashley Spungin on synths/percussion. This performance was a one-off instance; the two musicians were not accustomed to improvisations together, normally performing in the “band” duo format of bass, lap steel, drums, and synths. With two more new albums on the immediate horizon – another all-solo-synth material, as well a new full-length, and a full new “duo/band” LP – Schechter’s musical output as INSECT ARK has once again proven to defy genres, resist trends, and thwart expectations, leaving us all guessing to where she will traverse next.

02.09.2021 c) KOBZR - MAGAZINE 2015-2021