THYRFING: Vanagandr Full-Length From Swedish Viking Metal Veterans

Out Now And Streaming Via Despotz Records

Swedish Viking/Pagan metal veterans THYRFING today release their long-anticipated new full-length, Vanagandr, via Despotz Records. Despite there being no new studio recordings since 2013’s acclaimed De Ödeslösa, THYRFING has remained active on the tour circuit with appearances at the likes of Wacken Open Air, Summer Breeze, and Sweden Rock Festival, amongst many other shows and festivas. The lure of creating new music always remained and in 2015, plans were made for what would become Vanagandr, the band’s eighth studio release. Leaning heavily on their ever-present connection with Norse Mythology, Vanagandr -- an alternate name for the wolf creature known as the more familiar Fenrir -- is a celebration of the tales and stories of Scandinavia. The track “Undergångens länkar” is a conceptual piece focusing on Vanagandr/Fenrir and a track that carries the spirit and hallmarks that make THYRFING so unique. “Döp dem i eld” is both the opening song on the album and the first video, one of two produced for the band by Patric Ullaeus (Dimmu Borgir, Europe, Arch Enemy). A powerful, heavy, and aggressive track packed with groove and melody. Elsewhere “Träldomsord” is regarded as possibly the band’s most intense song to date, whereas “Jordafärd” closes the album in epic fashion – a mournful and moody longing for the end to come. The perfect way to end the album! Vanagandr was co-recorded and co-produced by Jakob Herrmann (In Flames, Machine Head, Evergrey) at Top Floor Studios, in Gothenburg, Sweden with renowned producer/engineer Jacob Hansen (Volbeat, U.D.O., Katatonia) looking after the mix and mastering. The art concept for the record was executed by former Dark Tranquillity guitarist Niklas Sundin of Cabin Fever Media who created the art adorning Vansinnesvisor in 2002. The record serves as THYRFING's first release through their new label home of Despotz Records who will also reissued the band's first four albums -- Thyrfing (1998), Valdr Galga (1999), Urkraft (2000), and Vansinnesvisor (2002).


02.09.2021 c) KOBZR - MAGAZINE 2015-2021